3.5k
Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Schedule
Mon. 06:00am - 11:55pm
Tue. 06:00am - 11:55pm
Wed. 06:00am - 11:55pm
Thu. 06:00am - 11:55pm
Fri. 06:00am - 11:55pm

Sat. 06:00am - 11:55pm
Sun. 06:00am - 11:55pm
Features
Backyard
Playground
Residential neighborhood
Central A/C
Full kitchen
Educational program
Experienced with children with special needs
Financial subsidies available
Government accreditation (license)
References available upon request
Services available at night
Services available in English
Services available in French
Services available on weekends
Services available part-time
Temporary care available
Children cared for 4
Number of employees 1
Location
(Approximate location)
Listing Reviews

Home Away From Home Childcare

Family / home daycare,
dayhome

Not available,
Calgary, T2A0C6
Alberta, Canada
Amanda
Email: not available
Tel.: not available
Visit website

Amanda

Arts and crafts centre

Kitchen

Dining area/baking centre

Downstairs play area

Downstairs play area

Downstairs play space

Nap area

Available spaces,
current openings

Nb. of openings Age group Starting Daily rate
No available spaces / openings at this time !

Description

Home away from home childcare is run by Amanda Tuff-Overes, mother of 2 beautiful girls aged 5 years & 8 months.

Amanda operated a 24 hour day home in Medicine Hat for 2 years prior to moving to Calgary. Before opening her first day home, Amanda was a provincially licensed EMR (Emergency Medical Responder).

Home away from home provides a fully insured, non-smoking, pet free environment for pre-kindergarten children. We are also TELEVISION FREE aside from special (age appropriate) movie days.

My rates include meals and snacks appropriate to the time of day your child attends. All meals and snacks are prepared fresh from scratch and age appropriate. I make all my own baby food as well however, I will not introduce new foods to your child for safety reasons.

Our daily schedule includes learning about the calendar, days of the week, weather, alphabet, and numeracy. Colouring time, craft or baking, outdoor play, play dough, free play, singing, dancing, and moving. Come summer time we will have a small garden in the back yard and each child (who is old enough) will have a small plot of their own to grow their favorite vegetable in.

I believe in learning through play and experience. I treat all dayhome children as if they were my own. I take every opportunity to teach them something useful be it the days of the week, or how to make their own lunch. I am not a supporter of the "do it for them" method of parenting and believe that children need to be allowed to make mistakes safely so that they may learn not "what to think" but "how to think".

I use a 3 strike - time out form of correction and take as many opportunities to praise children as possible during the day. I believe that children will make good decisions if they are encouraged through positive reinforcement.

In addition to daytime care, I offer evening, and overnight care. I also offer drop-in/emergency care for children who have been pre-registered with me. Rates vary depending on time of day and paytables are provided at registration as well as available on the website.

Home away from home is privately operated (no subsidy available).

I have a current criminal record and vulnerable sector checks and am awaiting my husbands in the mail. I and will be able to provide them to all clients. I am also able to provide references from past clients.

If you would like to set up an interview please contact Amanda at:

587-999-2740
or
H.away.from.home@gmail.com
Admission conditions
**Photo's of backyard play space to come!**


Listing's statistics

Date of last update: 2013-06-11 12:18:12
 
Seniority
Information
quality
Information
reliability
100% 40%
Daycare in Calgary

A few tips...

Do not hesitate to refer to this article to help you choose a daycare provider, know which questions to ask, have an idea of what to look for...
Did you know?
DaycareBear is also available in Quebec (in French) and in the U.S!
Simply click on the corresponding flag in the upper-left corner.
Partner in your
search for a daycare provider