3.5k
Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Schedule
Mon. 07:00am - 11:30pm
Tue. 07:00am - 11:30pm
Wed. 07:00am - 11:30pm
Thu. 07:00am - 11:30pm
Fri. 07:00am - 11:30pm

Sat. Closed
Sun. Closed
Features
Backyard
Playground
Residential neighborhood
Central A/C
Full kitchen
Educational program
Experienced with children with special needs
Financial subsidies available
Government accreditation (license)
References available upon request
Services available at night
Services available in English
Services available in French
Services available on weekends
Services available part-time
Temporary care available
Children cared for 6
Number of employees 1
Location
(Approximate location)
Listing Reviews

It's A Child's World

Family / home daycare,
dayhome

Not available,
Edmonton, T5B4L5
Alberta, Canada
Crystal
Email: not available
Tel.: not available
Website
not available





Available spaces,
current openings

Nb. of openings Age group Starting Daily rate
No available spaces / openings at this time !

Description

Hi, my name is Crystal.

My husband and I have been married for 14 years and we have 4 wonderful boys. Our two oldest boys are 23 and 19 and our two younger boys are 13 and 6. We are a homeschool family and our boys participate in a variety of sports and programs.

I grew up in Hinton. My child care career started when I was 12 when I started babysitting for family friends and neighbours. As a teenager, I decided to dedicate my life to caring for children on a more serious level. I studied Early Childhood Development in college and graduated from the program in 1994. From there I went on to work in a few different child care centres. I was the program director in a centre when I became pregnant with my son. When my maternity leave was almost over I made the decision to open a dayhome instead of returning to work. I figured I could have the best of both worlds; I could stay home with my son and put my education to use. I have been a dayhome provider for 18 years now and have been with It’s A Child’s World for the majority of that time.

I am personally dedicated to providing quality care and implementing the basic and effective technique of learning through play experiences. I strive to promote children’s growth in all 7 domains of early childhood development – cognitive, physical (fine motor/gross motor), creative, self help/adaptive, social/emotional, spiritual/moral, and last, but not least, language/linguistic. I believe that by planning and encouraging child-centred activities, and by making the environment a caring and accepting one, a child’s all-important self-esteem is developed.

I believe that children learn autonomy through making choices for themselves, and therefore include the children’s interests and abilities in my programming and play experiences whenever possible.

In order to grow and learn, children need to challenge themselves within safe boundaries, which sometimes are crossed. In maintaining these safe boundaries, I strongly believe that children should be disciplined using positive guidance and discipline strategies. Strategies that will maintain their self-esteem and help them learn appropriate behaviours. I use techniques which focus on prevention, positive reinforcement, positive redirection, and natural and logical consequences. These are practices currently taught in Early Learning and Childcare programs. I am opposed to any form of physical punishment and/or verbal battering and find these unacceptable methods of dealing with children’s behaviour.

I initially became involved in the field of child care because of the joy and fulfillment I received from interacting with children in my own community. Now, as a parent, I feel it is even more important to endeavour to continue playing my part in creating safe, healthy learning environments for our future and most important resource - our children.

My full-time rate is $760.00 per month. (This includes the $110.00 agency fee.)

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any further questions or inquiries.
Admission conditions
MUST ALLOW OUTINGS:
I like to take the children on outings. We have gone on field trips to: the library, Telus World of Science, John Janzen Nature Centre, O'leary indoor playground, Millenium Place, swimming pools, and numerous parks and playgrounds. We have attended activites such as: K-Days parade, Street Performers Festival, Festival of Trees, etc.

MUST ALLOW PETS: I have one mid-sized dog.


Listing's statistics

Date of last update: 2015-01-20 13:52:13
 
Seniority
Information
quality
Information
reliability
96% 40%
Daycare in Edmonton

A few tips...

If you visited or if you're using a childcare provider found on DaycareBear, do not hesitate to leave a review. This will most certainly help other parents!
Did you know?
DaycareBear.ca has helped over 20950 daycare providers fill out their openings since its launch in January 2006!
Partner in your
search for a daycare provider