PDA

View Full Version : Charges For Down Syndrome kid on weekends Please Help me

Mrs Ahmed
01-16-2012, 09:21 AM
Helooooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooo daycare providers I need help
I need help because I have to decide to care or not to care because I don,t know how to say no to people who need me.
I want to tell you guys a mother came with his 6yrs old kid with down syndrome and some behavior issues, I spent whole 7 hours with him on weekend and i just charged 4$/h. But know I am very confuse because she needs care only on sundays. Sundays as you know are very important, the time she told she came late arround more than hour late and she only paid me extra 6$.Whatever your suggestions are welcome.
Please guide me with expected charges for care. What do you think what should I do or do you know someone or some source who can help me out in this situation because its my first time with special kid.
thanks in advance:yes:

playfelt
01-16-2012, 09:37 AM
At 6 years old the family will have support people in place that can offer information. As well there is a down syndrome society that has excellent info. The parents may also qualify for additional money for services such as childcare and that could top up your fees.

Make sure you have a written contract that spells out what time child will come, go home, what is to be provided during the day. For a fee I charge a daily rate of $50 day on the weekend when I do it which is $5 an hour for a 10 hour day so not far off what you are charging and rates here for the week are $35-40 day.