PDA

View Full Version : Starting up - how much to charge

Littledragon
01-22-2012, 08:11 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm new to this forum and I'm new to this daycare business. I just had a baby of my own and I would like to start up a home daycare when I'm done my mat leave.

I am a little stressed about it but more excited than anything. I will be contributing to EI as well as paying taxes, and I will be getting insurance and so on. Any little bit of advice would help me.

I am looking to only have 3 children. I want a small home daycare. I am a little worried though about the money. I was going to charge $50 a day and supply everything - food, outings...all that. But now I'm starting to wonder if $50 isn't too much. I live in Ontario. Does anyone know what the average cost per day is for full time toddlers?

playfelt
01-22-2012, 09:57 PM
The cost will vary by where you live as well as by what you provide. Most caregivers provide food and some outings as part of the fee. Parents provide infant foods, bottles and diapers.

Go to the main page for the forum and input your postal code and it will bring up caregivers that live near you and that would give you a good idea of what they are charging and what they are offering. That should give you an idea of how to market your services in terms of what you will provide and what you will charge for it.

If you give your city, maybe someone that also lives in that area will know of a caregiver support group that is available. Another option is to look into agencies that are in your area. For some just starting out it can be a good way to get started in the sense they will help with what you need including some equipment - especially if you only have your own baby as you will need equipment and toys for children up to 3 years older that your own child.

Heaths
01-25-2012, 02:36 PM
The CCPRN website has a chart that gives a good idea of the high and low end child care fees in your area - I found it to be a great resourse!

Momof4