PDA

View Full Version : Proof of insurance

CountryHill
02-07-2012, 11:58 AM
I am new to running a home daycare so this may be common pracitce. I interviewed a family and the ONLY questions the father asked was if we had liaibility insurance to run a daycare. Thanks to this site I knew about the additional insurance.

I did a follow up call to see if they were interested in the spot since they hadn't fully commited since their babies won't start for several more months. They had three questions. One was, could they get a copy of my liability insurance! I think this is odd. The insurance covers me, not them. I was honest with the mother and said that this concerned me since children get bump, bruises, scraps etc. and that stuff happens even when you are right there. Kids are kids. She acknowledged this and said they were just concerned that if the child ran out on the road and was hit by a car and died where they would go from there.

Is this strange? What would you do? Should I be concerned?

Thanks in advance for all your help!

Play and Learn
02-07-2012, 12:12 PM
The insurance is for you and your home. How would they like it if we asked to see their car or home insurance?! I would tag this as a red flag, and pass them off to another provider. If they're asking about petty things like this, who knows what they'll bring up later on?!

This is a big fat NEXT for me!

Spixie33
02-07-2012, 12:24 PM
Yikes....so if their child ran out onto the road and died -- their first worry is to sue you?
Umm.....I would think you would have other things to worry about
Wow
Scary.
I would pass on these people. They seem to be thinking very dire thoughts and it does not seem normal to me

sunnydays
02-07-2012, 12:48 PM