PDA

View Full Version : Interview questions you haven't had

Spixie33
02-13-2012, 12:49 PM
Since there are a few interview threads about what parents or providers should ask -- I wondered what everyone has NOT been asked.
Some of the stuff really surprises me - that I have not been asked

i.e I have never been asked to show my first aid training certificate...parent s just ask if I have it

I have never been asked who comes in and out of the house during the day, what sort of males go through the house or whether my husband is home at certain hours etc

playfelt
02-13-2012, 12:57 PM
I think all parents have their own comfort levels with certain things too. Where one parent would be outraged that my own teenage son might come home for university for reading week and be here another would be excited that the kids had another adult to play with. As far as first aid goes there is an awful lot of the course that is practical and easily self taught so I don't think it is as red a flag as some would think. A lot of parents don't have CPR and would never think to worry about it. I have it for my own sanity not the sanity of the parents.

A lot can be learned about what the parents don't ask too. One they are either getting tired of interviews and just assuming that certain things are standard since the last 5 they visited had certain things. It also could be that they haven't done a lot of research and don't know that there are checklists out there or have decided that their gut feeling is more important than the check list.

A lot of parents go on the assumption especially when we have our own children in the home that we are not bringing anyone or anything into the home we would not want our own children exposed to.

Judy Trickett
02-13-2012, 12:58 PM
I have NEVER been asked to see my police record check.

Also, not about interviews but you would also be surprised how many parents sign on to care but NEVER call my references that I freely give out.

Spixie33