PDA

View Full Version : Record Keeping!

lunademiel
02-13-2012, 09:14 PM
How do you all organize all of your receipts?

Especially grocery receipts?

I am new to the business. I grocery shop on Sundays only for my family and the daycare. I shop at Superstore so a lot of misc supplies are also bought there. For example kids plates, crafts, toys, toilet paper, cleaning supplies, food etc. Does this all need to be separated? What categories should I keep them in? How do I separate the food from what is for the daycare, what's for my own kids, and what is for my family meals? Things like toilet paper, hand soap, paper towels etc? I'm feeling so overwhelmed LOL! Some of the food I make is for dinner one night and lunch the next. How the heck to separate that?

Some of the supplies I bought were at the end of last year for my business that is not technically open until this year. Can I still claim those expenses? How do I sell myself things like the playpen that is being used for the daycare now?

I bought a bookshelf for the daycare, I think I read somewhere that you can't claim furniture?

How many of you do your own taxes and how many have someone to do it for you?

Sorry for so many questions! I really just want to have a good understanding of my business!

Thank you!

playfelt
02-13-2012, 09:39 PM
Go to the revenue canada site there is a booklet that you can download. It is only somewhat helpful though as it isn't very detailed.

Anything you buy specifically for the daycare like the bookshelf is claimable and you use the depreciation chart for most furniture or major purchases. However when you sell the bookcase or stop doing daycare you also need to claim the sale amount as income.