PDA

View Full Version : Tax time!

Emily3
02-14-2012, 08:42 AM
Hi! This is my first year doing taxes for a home day care and just wanted to ask you veterans a grocery question! I have just added all my receipts up and spent $1751.36 on groceries for 3 dck from May until December. Does this seem excessive?????? Thanks everyone!

Cadillac
02-14-2012, 09:42 AM
Not at all excessive. Surprising though, wasn't it! I don't provide lunches but I do provide snacks. Last year my write off was over $700. this year its $1090.00

Emily3
02-14-2012, 10:04 AM
Great, was just wondering what the government considers 'reasonable' since that is thenword they use in the tax guide!! On a similar note, I have been looking through all the old tax posts here and many people have posted the idea of writing off as much as possible to bring income down to next to nothing......how on earth can you write off $20000 worth of stuff?????

Cadillac
02-14-2012, 10:23 AM
HAHAHAHAHAHA you'd be surprised what you can do. I do that too. But its not cheating at all since I only write off exactly what I use.
you can write off: You mortgage or rent, hydro bill, phone bill, internet bill, grocery bill, wipes,, diapers, your car payments and gas if you use it with the kids, food, crafts, CPR and first aid certifications, assistant's paychecks, office supplies, paper, printer ink, toilet paper, cleaning supplies, my god the list goes on and on.

Do you have the governments guide to owning your own daycare? send me your email and I'll send it to you. it's a good guide to have and you might be mad at how many receipts you didn't save this year

Spixie33
02-14-2012, 11:15 AM
Duplicate post

Spixie33
02-14-2012, 11:16 AM
That's all you spent on food from May-dec?

I save every receipt for everything and for 2011 my family of 4 plus the 4.5 daycare kids cost $11,000 (yes THOUSAND) dollars in food.