PDA

View Full Version : A career changer

Cha
02-14-2012, 02:19 PM
Hi I'm a newbie! thanks Heavens I found one forum like this. I have been thinking if ECE is really for me. i have been into the business sector before I moved to Canada. But while waiting for our visa (which took 5 yrs to process), I thought of changing career - teaching. I took the board exam for teachers and passed it. Then I taught in the university.
When I came here, I found out that it takes sweat and blood before one can get certified as a teacher. Since I really love to be in the education sector, I tried ECE. Who knows I might like it in the end. I am on-call assistant in one of the govt owned daycare and taking full time ECE at night.
I don't find hard until I got hired in one daycare where children are 1-2. I/T that is!
It was a riot all the time for 4 days. And i only lasted for 4 days in that daycare. This gives me another second thought! Is this career really for me? I can be ok with the 3-6, but the I/T, it gives me a shiver to my spine!
I believe in the saying : "everything happens for a reason". I don't know why this is happening, maybe for a reason. So I just let destiny lead me to where I will be in the future.

sunnydays
02-14-2012, 06:44 PM
I am not sure what province you are in, but here in Ontario, kids go to school at 4, so really we only care for 1-3 year olds in home daycares. You may be able to work in a before and after school care instead though. It definitely isn't the kind of job you can do if you don't enjoy it as it requires a lot of energy, patience, and understanding. Good luck with your career decision! I know it is very hard when you move to a new country and can no longer do what you are trained to do and suddenly nobody values your experience and education. I really feel for you having to go through that.

Momof4
02-19-2012, 12:50 PM