PDA

View Full Version : New Daycare

Victoria4
03-06-2012, 06:11 AM
I wonder if anyone has any suggestions.... I've decided to open a daycare. I am a mom of a 12 month old so I'm looking for babies in that age range. I have had a few interviews but apparently am blowing them (lol) as I don't get call backs. A couple of questions asked were my curriculum and daily menu. I'm new at this and thought that babies basically played with toys, liked stories and listening to music, besides of course naps and snacks. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

playfelt
03-06-2012, 06:31 AM
Realize that babies won't be babies for long and by 15 months most will be ready for something more "planned" than just winging the day. Parents want to know that you will be doing activities with the children. Be sure that you have purchased - second hand is totally ok some toys and games to grow into so that the children that come into care will constantly be challenged. Do some research on what is best practice in your province and then show that to the parents - they just want to know that you have taken these things into consideration.

Try to think as someone that has been through this many times in the sense of one of the reasons some parents have chosen me over a new daycare is that I have proven I can handle more than one child. It amazes me how many parents come with their baby and claim to be overwhelmed with one child and questioning how I intend to handle more than one let alone 5. Have answers to that kind of question and offer the information in your presentation rather than wait for them to ask since some may be too polite to ask but wonder.

It also takes time. Those families will be visiting up to 10 or more homes in some cases and may not have even started to make up their minds knowing they have time - depending on how old the child was at the time of the interview so you may still hear back from some of the parents.