PDA

View Full Version : Working in restroom breaks...

Kaila
03-06-2011, 02:42 PM
Hi, I'm new to being a daycare provider, I have three kids that haven't yet started plus my own. I run my daycare in my basement and was just wondering what everyone else does when they have to go to the bathroom. I know it sounds silly :p
But what do ya'll do when ya have to pee? do you lug all the kids upstairs with you, I'm too scared to leave them down there for just a minute. Everything is safe and there's no really reason they could hurt themsleves but it only takes a minute for anything to happen. Please help! :o

playfelt
03-06-2011, 03:17 PM
I just run up and go. I know the fear is normal but think about it this way. If the daycare was on the main floor and you had to go pee you would just go right even though the children were in a separate room. As long as the room is specific to the childcare and childproofed then it doesn`t matter what level it is on you are still gone the same length of time. Part of the childproofing though is not just the room in general but about what is going on at the time and the ages of the children. Having a playpen to quickly put a young toddler into or temporarily putting up an extra gate or asking the older kids to hand you the scissors till you get back is still necessary. I have thought of putting a commode type chair in the basement mostly for me - getting older and muscles well let's just say I don't think I have any anymore and for potty training kids. It would be a lot cheaper than putting in a full bathroom but then I worry about the handwashing. Accidents happen and even if you are in the room your back is sometimes to a child and you miss a child climbing where they shouldn't. You get to know your kids and know which ones need to be secured or taken up with you.

Emilys4Guppies
03-07-2011, 12:59 PM