PDA

View Full Version : Decline a family for care

mandy
05-04-2012, 10:19 AM
Ok, so I really need some help.

I did an interview earlier this week and met a mother and her son. Through the interview i got an idea of the mother's personality and I really think that she would be a royal pain for me if I took on her son.

My issue is that I'm not sure how to tell her that I don't want to care for her son without insulting either of them. I've had some really bad experiences before when I didn't listen to my gut and took on families that I thought might be trouble.

Can anyone help me out?

dodge__driver11
05-04-2012, 10:24 AM
Sometimes you just have to "white lie" lol

Just say that the spot has been filled by another family. Don't open yourself up to questions and long talks "specially" if you don't care for this chick.

michellesmunchkins
05-04-2012, 10:26 AM
I just had to do the same thing. Mom was a control freak, argued with me over every aspect of my handbook and contract.

I just emailed them 2 days after the interview and told them I had chosen a family who I felt was a better fit for my program. Wished them luck in their search. End of story.

I've been 'biten' too many times so to speak. I love that I get to chose who comes into my program and not just have to take whoever wants to come!

mandy
05-04-2012, 10:39 AM
Yeah, I was thinking about telling her that I've filled my spot, but I have to keep advertising and I hate the idea of being caught in a lie...May have to chance it though. I think that I'd hate myslf if I took on the family.

michellesmunchkins
05-04-2012, 10:42 AM
Yeah, I was thinking about telling her that I've filled my spot, but I have to keep advertising and I hate the idea of being caught in a lie...May have to chance it though. I think that I'd hate myslf if I took on the family.