PDA

View Full Version : Caring for your little one and the daycare kids...

Kaila
03-08-2011, 09:14 PM
Hi there, I am new to being a daycare provider I have three kids that are signed up, two are starting this month and the third in September. My question is I have a seven month old daughter who is a very needy baby and loves her "mommy time" :D I am so nervous when it comes time to care for the other children that I won't be able to let go of her so we can all play. How do I still attened to her needs as well as the needs of my other DCK so we can all be happy :) What should I do? Any suggestions would be great, thanx!

mamaof4
03-08-2011, 09:30 PM
My first thought is can you have some trial runs? watch another kids with your DD there? Do you baby-wear at all? When I am away from my kids or they feel disconnected wearing them really helps them reconnect.

Kaila
03-08-2011, 09:46 PM
I did have a playdate today and it went well, I think i'm just worrying about it too much, I can put her in my carrier and wear her, I was just hoping for something else that I could do other than that. Thank you and I will defenatly try that :) Thanx mamaof4!

Tot-Time
03-09-2011, 05:24 AM
I started daycare when my oldest was about 10 months old. She did amazingly well. My first little guy was the same age and he became her best friend. I quickly discovered she didn't need her Mommy as much as I thought she did ;)

I took 6 months off when my second was born and she too did an good job transistioning into daycare and I even had another 6 month old in care too. I will be the first to admit that my 2nd as an infant HATED to be held, so she naturally didn't need a lot of attention.

I don't know if having another child the same age starting daycare with them was the key or if they would have did well with any age.