PDA

View Full Version : Teething issues and symptoms... Help!

dragonlady3
03-11-2011, 02:07 AM
I have been operating my family day care for 15 years and never seen these symptoms of teething! Swollen cheek(s) and temple, deep red in colour, noticeably hot to the touch. The child is not crying but is almost un-reactive. Moves his eyes and seems to be alert but does not move about physically. Is happy to sit for very long periods of time with toys around him. He is only days away from turning one and only managed to get himself into a sitting position this week....although he has been able to sit if you arrange him. He can almost pull himself upright. I am afraid that he is in considerable pain and it is influencing his development.
We insisted that the parents get an assessment from their doctor...and were told that the doctor says he is normal and healthy.
We called Tele-Health Ontario and they told us that it is most definitely NOT normal, that he should see a doctor in the next 3-4 hours max., should be immediately dosed with ibuprophen, and have cool compresses applied 20 minutes on and 20 minutes off until he is picked up and taken to the doctor. We really need advice on this issue. Any assist is appreciated!:blink:

LisaQ
03-11-2011, 04:49 AM
Hi dragonlady3,

I'm no doctor, but that really doesn't sound like just teething to me. It may be that he is teething as well, but for an almost one year old to not be moving around much - it sounds like there is some developmental delay there to me. Really hope you get to the bottom of this.

playfelt
03-11-2011, 11:57 AM
I would be awfully worried that he hadn't suffered a fall and bump to the head.

My first reaction when you said high fever and bright red cheeks was Fifth's Disease but with the other symptoms there is more than that too I would think.