PDA

View Full Version : First Interview: What is the best way to interview the parents?

BlueRose
05-30-2012, 06:18 PM
I have my first interview on Saturday. I am very nervous. I used to be a store manager and interviewed people all the time, sometimes in my sleep... lol. But this is different or is it? Do I interview the same way?;)

I know I need to go over my handbook and fees.
Any advice on what else to ask?

Dreamalittledream
05-30-2012, 06:55 PM
Hello! I too left the world of retail management to open a home daycare! And for me; totally different interview style. For starters; every one of my day home interviews, after the tour, have ended up on the floor of my playroom. I'm down on the child's level and, since it's where I spend most of my day...it's where I'm the most comfortable. I actually do a phone chat first, with the next step being emailing out photos of our play space, both in & out as well as my contract & handbook for them to read beforehand. I find this saves a lot of pressure for them to feel like they need to read this whole pile of info. right then & there. And, if there is some aspect of my policies/procedures etc. they don't like it nixes it right there (has yet to happen). This way, in person I am selling myself, my business and by my questions seeing if they are a good fit. Some questions in phone chat: Full-time/part-time, age, tell me about your child, his/her past daycare/childcare experiences. My interview questions are often tied in amongst chat as we tour the daycare spaces (this is the nap area; does your child have a nap routine at home?) & as we go through our typical day. Some ideas for in person interview questions: Drop off/pick up times, what are their goals for their child in a day home, what are they looking for in a provider, child's strengths, challenges, health issues, daily routine, nap/sleep routine, mealtime routine, how they deal with behaviour issues at home. Hope this all helps!

Dreamalittledream