PDA

View Full Version : Looking for experiences and tips for opening a Before and After school home daycare !

mehawk82
06-06-2012, 01:51 PM
Hi,
I'm new to the site. And new to the soon to be business of a home daycare. I have my ECE diploma and 3 little ones. My two oldest kids will be going to school full days starting in September. I have been a SAHM since my oldest was born and am now looking into making some money, esp. since we just bought our first house!
So I wanted to start up by offering before and after school care ONLY! I'm not sure if I'm right for this job, don't get me wrong, I love kids, ideally I would like to work with kids outside the home, but leaving mine just isn't an option. So I would love to hear some advice and pros and cons of just before and after school. I'm wondering how to charge parents? I would like to charge $20/per day. And 40$ on PD days and snow days should the parents require care. Should I charge for all stat holidays and days the child is sick? I am looking to take in 5 children. I am also not planning on working in the summers. (Kinda like a teacher's schedule). And I'm still up in the air about Christmas Break and March Break, since then I would have 8 kids total in the house, and I just think that may be alot esp. if their ages range from 1 -10 yrs. What do you think? Thanks in advance for your help:)

Play and Learn
06-07-2012, 07:01 AM
In my own experience, and from being an ECE and working in centers, I really needed that ME time, and away from the school-agers!

1. $20/day for before/after school is what I charge. IF they want one or the other it's $15/day
2. $40-45/day (depending on how much food/supplies cost) for PD DAYS
3. I personally take 2 weeks at Christmas and March Break off (I have mostly toddlers & preschoolers, so your situation isn't like mine currently)
4. Paid STAT Holidays
5. If I'm OPEN, you pay (I don't care if your child is sick or on holidays, I have bills to pay, and saving YOUR CHILD a spot)