PDA

View Full Version : How much to charge in Mississauga & any tips?

powderwing
06-19-2012, 05:40 AM
I am opening a home daycare /before and after care in Mississauga (Lorne Park), and I am not sure how much to charge.
I want to set up my daycare to take teachers' kids, so I can still have the holidays with my own family.
I have one client so far, my best friend since childhood, who will return to work (she is a teacher) in September when her son turns one.

I am a former Elementary Teacher with the Peel Board, but I am now giving up my position to keep staying home with my kids (2.5 yrs and 5.9 yrs.) full time. So far I will have a one year old, an almost 3 year old (who will be attending preschool 3 mornings/ week). My own daughter starts grade one this year, so I thought of trying for another couple of children after school as well. Maybe another 3-day preschooler, or another one-year-old, if it is manageable. I'll have to see how I go, as I like things to be under control (I am used to minding 20+ school aged kids though, so take "under control" with a grain of salt).

So my main question is, how much should I charge?
I am thinking of charging $260/week (including short weeks) but nothing for summer/Christmas/March Break. This works out to the same as $200/week all year round. I don't want to charge to little, but I am not in it just for the money, either.
I would love some advice on this, or any other tips.
Thanks!

Inspired by Reggio
06-19-2012, 06:02 AM
Congratulations on your new endeavor!

What to charge is going to vary vastly on your area - the going rate in MY area is on average between $150 - 200 a week for full time care depending on demand in the area of the city, program style or niche, provider experience, etc.

If you want to see if your projected fee is 'competitive' I would put your postal code into the search engine on Daycarebear and see what providers in your area are charging.