PDA

View Full Version : Day Homes of Non-parents

mamaof4
06-21-2012, 03:34 PM
If you are a daycare provider and do not have children do you feel that parents 'judge' you for it how do you deal with this?

samantha3
06-21-2012, 04:50 PM
I have a daycare and I am not a parent and my families tell me that they like this because I dont have my own kids so my attention is on their children.

This is what I do professionally, I have my ECE Diploma and continuing my to get my degree. I run a high end program based on a Reggio Emelia philosophy, natural toys etc.

I personally do not feel judged.

Momof4
06-21-2012, 05:07 PM
My children are grown and I have 5 grandchildren as well with a medical background, but not my ECE. I understand what you are getting at mamaof4 because I am able to use over 30 years of experience and a common sense approach to running my daycare and parents appreciate that very much.

But I know when people come in the door if they have a prejudice about this or that since I don't life in a gorgeous huge house with a gorgeous huge yard. Every family is looking for something different and you can't please all the people all the time so you have to find the families who can see what you offer and look beneath surface judgements, including whether a person has children of their own. What samantha said makes perfect sense.

Inspired by Reggio
06-21-2012, 05:10 PM
I have a daycare and I am not a parent and my families tell me that they like this because I dont have my own kids so my attention is on their children.

This is what I do professionally, I have my ECE Diploma and continuing my to get my degree. I run a high end program based on a Reggio Emelia philosophy, natural toys etc.

I personally do not feel judged.