PDA

View Full Version : Interviews

BrightEyes
07-03-2012, 08:44 PM
I hate interviews.

I have a lot of experience working with children. I am an Early Childhood Educator, have worked in licensed daycares as well as been a Nanny.

Why is it that for every interview I get nervous, anxious and choke up?!?!?!?!?!?!

I am honestly so annoyed with myself for it!!

little rascals
07-03-2012, 09:38 PM
It happens to most of us. I have been doing this for a year and still get nervous. I guess it takes some time. Hopefully we can replace nervousness with confidence. Good luck !

Inspired by Reggio
07-04-2012, 07:25 AM
Yup ~ it took me years to get comfortable interviewing and touring prospective clients!

Things that helped me were creating a point form 'checklist' to help me stay on track and ensure I cover the same thing with ALL interviewees as well as getting family and friends to volunteer to be my practice subjects and walking them through and getting constructive feedback from them.

Filler up vibes for you :)

Momof4
07-04-2012, 08:42 AM
I had some other home daycare providers ask me if they would like them to come over so I could practice an interview with them but I said no because I figured I wouldn't be able to do it without giggling all the way through anyway. I was having a really hard time with interviews last year and getting frustrated. However, thinking back on it, it wasn't me it was the families coming in for interviews. I had one woman who wanted to know how I cleaned my house, why I had plastic toys and so on. I had one woman with a clipboard filled with questions and her husband never said a word and looked like he was afraid of her. I had a woman who told lies and tripped herself up during the interview. Do you see what I'm saying? I did NOT want those families!