PDA

View Full Version : I'm so tired!

Starshine
07-05-2012, 09:36 PM
I am fairly new to this and I'm SHOCKED at how exhausted I am. Honestly, I am ready to crash at 9:00 at night! Usually I have so much to do though I don't make it til 11 and then I'm up at 6:30 to start the day. I'm a single parent so I don't have any help with the day-to-day household stuff. I've been trying to get all the housecleaning/grocery shopping/running errands done on weekday evenings, so that I can spend the weekend just relaxing with my own child. I knew going into this that it would be consuming, but wow.

samantha3
07-05-2012, 10:13 PM
Uhh, I hear ya! My first year I was in bed at 9 every night as well (earlier sometimes, lol). I found once I got into a routine that really helped. As well as when you have established families it takes the stress away of not being sure if you are going to have income coming in....

Sticking to something that is for yourself is really important too so you do not go crazy working 24/7.

Best of luck and I hope you get some sleep soon!

Momof4
07-06-2012, 08:49 AM
Oh the first few years are so exhausting - the interviewing, the stress, the worry, trying to do everything 110% - yes I remember it well. It's a learning curve to get great routines down pat and every year I still change so many things, especially as the ages of the group in care changes.

But I have learned to get the children to help get all the toys cleaned up before they leave, to get the dishes started in the late afternoon so they get done a bit earlier, to sweep if I can while the children freeplay. Whatever you can get done while the children eat or play is helpful or you just feel like there is no downtime at all in your day.

This is NOT an easy job and it's frustrating when other people think you have it easy because you get to stay at home. We run a business and work hard. We just get the perks of the hugs and giggles most days.