PDA

View Full Version : Feeling really confused....

Lucy1212
07-10-2012, 02:02 AM
This has never happened to me before and I have been doing daycare now for 20 years! I have been doing Daycare to a sister and brother 3 years old and 20 months old since January. My fees are $1,000 a month they come Mond - Thursd. Have never had a problem with the payments until today... I go check my bank statement online and the cheque I had deposited on July 3rd, came back marked "stop payment"! What does that mean??? and even worse this family has gone on holiday and wont be back until next week! So I have no way of contacting them. I am out of $1,000 and because of the cheque bouncing it messed up my account :( I'm just so fustrated right now, really needed to vent! I don't understand what could have possibly happened. Have never had a problem with this family both parents have really good jobs, they live in a beautiful area close to my home, they are well established in the neighbourhood, so not the type of people to skip town or anything like that. Anyone else had similar experience?
Ugh midnight already and I'm not going to be able to sleep.

Inspired by Reggio
07-10-2012, 06:36 AM
Oh hon that is horrible!

My understanding of banking is that ' stop payment' means that THEY had an issue and put a stop payment on their end because they do not want to pay for service this month for whatever reason.

I would call the bank and ASK and explain that this cheque was for service already rendered and see what they say on their end.

Do you have email or text information on the family cause even though they are on vacation I would email/text them or call them at whatever number you have and leave messages to deal with this NOW!

Do you keep a security deposit on clients???