PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Here!! Please be kind!! :)

Tan @ Starlight
08-14-2012, 12:10 AM
Hi I am not new to the daycare field, but VERY new to the home daycare field!! :D
Just thought I would start with a few very basic questions!!

1. Do I "NEED" to register a business name?? If it's not NEEDED but just something most do, what are the benefits??

2. Private or Licensed?? What are the pros and cons to both!!

3. Where else other than this website can I advertise? Free or paid?

4. Looking to hopefully get some teachers kids, anyone with any experience working with teachers? Do you charge full/half/nothing in summer, march break and winter break??

I have a son turning one at the end of the month, and I am hoping to take in two more kids as I have a car and no van (yet!!), and I am hoping I can fit three car seats into my Pontiac Vibe!! (Anyone know??!!)

Ok so they weren't ALL basic, but that's it for now, I know I will have more, but have been reading alot of the posts and getting loads of info from them!!
Thanks in advance!!!

Inspired by Reggio
08-14-2012, 06:11 AM
Welcome to the board and congratulations on the new venture!

1. Do I "NEED" to register a business name?? If it's not NEEDED but just something most do, what are the benefits??

Depends on what province you live in ~ in Ontario based on the Business Names Act if you are advertizing your business by anything other than your full legal name than YES.

http://www.e-laws.gov.on.ca/html/statutes/english/elaws_statutes_90b17 _e.htm
Idem

(2) No individual shall carry on business or identify his or her business to the public under a name other than his or her own name unless the name is registered by that individual. R.S.O. 1990, c. B.17, s. 2 (2).