PDA

View Full Version : Starting Out - HELP!

katp
08-25-2012, 10:43 PM
I am just starting out with before and after school care. I want to make sure I cover every base, if possible. So I come to you to ask:

As a newbie, what information will I probably overlook putting in my contract and/or handbook that SHOULD NOT be omitted?

I have been browsing some other threads and it is clear you all know what you're doing. Any advice you could offer would be amazing! Thanks! :)

Inspired by Reggio
08-26-2012, 07:37 AM
My Contract includes the 'financial binding' end of things

Full legal name and birthdays of children it applies to
Parents legal names and home mailing Address
Who Income tax is to be issued to
Hours of Care being committed to both days and drop off and pick up times
Weekly Fee total ____________
Security Deposit amount followed by policy for non refundable or applied to proper notice period under certain conditions
Payment schedule weekly / biweekly / month in advance of care ... policy on payments re cheques or cash, late payment of fees , NSF charges and what will happen if clients repeatedly have NFS issues, additional charges that may apply if client uses more hours than committed to ~ aka late picking up their child at end of day, need to drop off earlier than contracted and so forth.
Program closure policies around stats, vacation, sick days, etc as well as policy around absences for 'clients' and which one are paid or not and any 'notice' required etc.
Parent handbook for service disclaimer that it was received, reviewed in detail and questions answered, and provider agrees to provide service as outlined within the handbook and client agrees to abide by all program polices and procedures contained within it to ensure provider has resources and support needed to provide proper service.