PDA

View Full Version : Potty time and mixed genders

DCMom
09-13-2012, 08:49 PM
Hi,

I am just starting out and would appreciate your input:

When it is time for everyone to try the potty/toilet (before outings, naps, etc...), would you and your DKparents be comfortable with the children being in the bathroom all at the same time (i.e. if you have a potty/toilet for everyone - in a small group) if there are boys and girls? Would you separate by gender (boys' toilet time, then girls' toilet time)? Consideration of age?

As a parent, I personally would be comfortable with mixed genders for younger children, but want to know if this is what others do/think and want to make sure parents are comfortable.

Thanks!

Momof4
09-13-2012, 08:56 PM
I love it when I get a chance to tell this story! I had a boy & girl training at the same time 3 years ago and the girl peed in the small sit down potty and the boy trained standing up at my toilet. One day I asked the little boy to give the little girl room because she had to sit down to pee. He said 'I know, because boys have weiners and girls have petunias so they have to sit.'

I went through it again the next year with a girl and a boy who used the same system but it was because I could get them both to go at the same time. Now I don't have to use the small potty any more because the girl now uses the regular toilet.

Anyway, to answer your question, no it doesn't matter to me if mixed genders are training. At daycare centres they use the same bathroom too I believe.

gcj
09-13-2012, 09:03 PM
wow momof4...you let the little guys stand? You're brave! :woot: I make them all sit!
And yes, they all go together. They're too young for it to matter. And I'm too busy to start doing a girl trip to the potty, then a boy trip...

Momof4
09-13-2012, 09:13 PM