PDA

View Full Version : Not sure what to do....

mommyof2princesses
09-17-2012, 02:22 PM
Hi! I am not sure if I posted in the correct category as this is my first time on here but I am in need of some advice and do not know what to do about a situation. I had a daycare parent go on maternity leave last spring but I told her that in order to ensure a spot for her baby once her maternity leave was up in the spring of 2013 she would need to keep her older child with me part time as I could not hold two spots open for a year. That was when my daycare was full.

Once August came I lost a child to "big school", one to a maternity leave that would not be returning as they would be moving within the year and another one to a move out of the city. Therefore leaving me with only the part time child (2 days a week).

I love my job and I love the children but I also need an income coming in to help pay the bills and one part time child is not enough unfortunately. I have since taken on two more part time children (the neighbour/friend of my other daycare family) but am in need of one more child by the start of the new year at the latest to help with income/bills/etc. Unfortunately if I take on one more child I will not have room for the baby that is supposed to come late spring 2013 (the one I am holding a spot for).

I do not know what to do!! On one hand I told this woman I would have a spot for her come the end of her maternity leave but on the other hand my savings is depleating quickly! HELP PLEASE!!!!

Momof4
09-17-2012, 03:25 PM
One hard lesson we learn in our business is that it IS A BUSINESS. We use our hearts for the children but our business minds to make the financial decisions and to make sure the parents follow the rules of our contracts. That's the best lesson I've learned so far anyway.