PDA

View Full Version : Phone interview?

Wonderwiper
09-18-2012, 12:34 PM
Hi! I have never done phone interviews before and have just received an email requesting that I call them with more info on my daycare! HELP!! Ha ha, i have no idea what to say! Thank you!

kidlove
09-18-2012, 12:59 PM
Phone is not fun.......you need to meet face to face. Why dont you return the e-mail with an interview offer instead? ;)

Dreamalittledream
09-18-2012, 01:06 PM
I actually have no problem with a phone interview; easy way to weed out the crazies....oops was that out loud? ;). Usually very simple, for me phone interviews are a good time to chat about your daycare hours vs. what hours they need for care, the age/info. about the child, when they need to start etc... also a good opportunity to sell yourself!

playfelt
09-18-2012, 01:09 PM
Weeding out by phone does prevent unnecessary time wasted on an interview. Don't forget that this is your chance to ask them questions too. Email back and forth can take time and especially if the person is texting with their phone. A phone call allows you to talk and get a feel for each other. You should ask them about the ages and sex of the child, the hours of care they need, what days as in fulltime or part time. Find out if the child has been in a care environment before as in why are they looking for care and also when they need the care to start.

If all that sounds good to you then you can ask them other questions like what kid of care of they looking for. All the while you are thinking about you offer and if it sounds like it is what the family is looking for. If it is then invite them for a visit.

Do not let the lady just take over the call and feel like you are in the hot seat which I am guessing is what is concerning you. You are not calling to defend your daycare just to offer your services.

mimi
09-18-2012, 01:13 PM