PDA

View Full Version : Must haves for outside play

GymMom
11-05-2012, 02:11 PM
Since I'm new to the dayhome scene, and my kids are older, I don't have many outside toys for the yard. A trampoline that we will NOT be using, a sandbox with no sand (will fill it up in the spring)...in the warmer weather we played at the parks, but now that winter is here, I'd like to set up my yard to use for the dayhome kids. What are the must-haves for outdoor play in winter?

Thanks!

playfelt
11-05-2012, 02:42 PM
We use very little toy wise in the winter. I have let them on the litttle tykes type climber but it can be icy/slippery so have to watch the stairs carefully. The door of the playhouse is usually snowed shut, the sandbox is buried under the snow and I always fret about them flopping in the snow and hitting the corner of it (wooden square box). They do use the swings as their feet soon smush the snow under them.

Mostlly just put them out and give them child size shovels and they will be happy - one per child of course.

You can flatten an area for them to make paths through the snow, hang some bird feeders which they follow the path to each day to check if refills needed.

My toddlers don't last more than 20 minutes outside in winter anyways so the shovels pretty much keep them happy.

Wonderwiper
11-05-2012, 02:56 PM
Hi! I have a large outdoor plastic playhouse that is great in winter, kids make "snow" food on plates to serve each other! Our wooden clubhouse/ swing set gets used all year of course. I have a toddler climber ( panda climber ) that we pile the snow around and jump in! A small incline down the side of the house is perfect for bum sliding! We don't really use small toys outside. Mostly running around getting exercise!

Crayola kiddies
11-05-2012, 03:03 PM