PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here! Question about siblings!

FSD
12-20-2012, 09:32 AM
Hi everyone! I'm opening up my new daycare in January and I already have 4 families signed up ~ very excited about that!! But I have one question regarding siblings. As of right now, like I mentioned, I have 4 children signed and ready to go and I need to know if I can accept the 5th family who have a boy and a girl to join us. Back when my girls were in daycare, our provider told us that siblings counted as one spot, but now I'm hearing different things about that. I checked on some websites and the wording is a bit confusing...speaking of "children from same parentage", etc. I was under the assumption that siblings count as one spot as I find it hard to believe that parents have their children in different daycares, you know what I mean? If you have one in daycare, and then would like to add your new baby to that same daycare, couldn't you or would you have to look for a whole new daycare? I hope this makes sense! :confused:

apples and bananas
12-20-2012, 09:46 AM
Congratulations on being almost full right away! It's what we all dream about. I hope all of your families work out wonderfully.

I believe the rule is 5 children total, plus your own. Nothing about siblings counting as one as far as I've seen or heard. Better to stay on the cautious side with this one.

Serendipity
12-20-2012, 09:50 AM
Siblings counted as one spot? That is the first time I have ever heard that concept.

FSD
12-20-2012, 10:16 AM
Thanks apples and bananas! I'm just wanting to fill this last spot and then I'll be super happy!!

About the one spot for siblings, I came across this wording and I find it hard to understand:

The Day Nurseries Act requires that any premise be licensed that receives more than five children under the age of 10 years, not of common parentage (children who have different parents), for temporary care and guidance.