PDA

View Full Version : Parents say how long child naps?

Marie
06-10-2011, 08:42 AM
Just a quick question. I'm new to this home daycare business. So far everything is going pretty well. This morning a mom asked that I not let her daughter nap more than an hour as she has been having problems going to sleep at night. My rule is usually I don't wake up sleeping babies (she is 10 months). Is this something that is ok for a parent to ask or is it my rules that go? Just wondering what you all would do. Thanks!

Play and Learn
06-10-2011, 08:52 AM
I state in my manual - that the parents must sign, that all children must stay in their playpen/cot from 1-3:30 p.m. Whether they nap or just lie quietly, I'm happy. It also states, and I am sure to tell the parents during the interview that this time is MY BREAK. We work long hours with brats (sometimes), and we NEED our break to keep our sanity.

If a parent doesn't like it, they can find other care. But a 10 month old needs their naps - usually having 2/day! They must not have a routine for their child at night time. Stupid parents.

Definitely YOUR Rules - this is YOUR BUSINESS...

Marie
06-10-2011, 08:56 AM
I don't have anything in my contract about naptime but I agree with you. I've just started with these parents so I'm not sure how to go about this. She did say if the child is really cranky to put her back down. Maybe I'll try it for a week knowing that it won't go well, and then after that week I'll tell her it did not go well and so I'm am letting her nap as long as she likes and also let her know that I am going to be revising the contract. I have put in the contract that revisions may be made. Hope that goes over well!

Judy Trickett
06-10-2011, 09:40 AM
The parents don't get to dictate naptime here - I DO! I have to manage an entire group of children and therefore I will decide when and how long they nap.

Besides, getting children to bed at night is NOT about their level of tiredness - it is about PARENTING.