PDA

View Full Version : Before the interview questions

little sunflower
03-26-2013, 12:18 AM
Hi all
I am extremely pleased to report after only a few days of posting some ads I have now booked 8 interviews and more emails keep coming in. I am looking to fill 2 spots up front as soon as possible then my 3rd spot I will either allow someone to pay a holding fee for right away or just advertise later for. Financially I need 2 spots filled asap.
I am new to home daycare business so I haven't really done a lot of prescreening before I have set up in person interviews. Mainly didn't ask too many questions ahead of time as I didn't want them to ask too many questions ahead of time as I want to talk to them in person before I mention I am actually a newbie provider. I set the interviews to be in a two week period (first two weeks in April) but I want to know a few things before going to do them;

1) I want to tell each parent a deadline that I will give my decision and would it make sense to say the same date to every parent (so it would have to be a date at least one day after the last interview booked)

2) I have read many of the interview threads on here and like the idea of having parents know that they should tell me if something else comes up before my deadline that they have gone with someone else instead so not sure how to say that in the interview (would I ask for an email or phone call? my communication with all has been email so far as is my preference so that I can give my full attention to answers)

3)if I find during an interview I really want the family do I nix the deadline and go with my gut and tell them they have the spot if they want (I have 3 spots to fill in total, my plan was to fill 2 as soon as possible, hopefully staggering the start dates for the two by a few days or week, then the 3 spot I'd fill a bit later or let someone hold that spot that has a more future date they need care for)