PDA

View Full Version : Sickness at Daycare.. You and them

Brooke91
05-04-2013, 08:34 AM
Just wonder how being paid works when you or a chikd gets sick.

Just this last Monday I had to shut down cause I was sick.. So come paid day I was paid but the parent minused that day I wasn't open from my pay.

Was that fair, I'm new to this and I just want to know how being sick works for everyone else, cause financially I can't afford to be sick again and neither can her kids
if I'm not going to be paid when they're not here.. To me that doesn't seem fair.

I'd love all your opions and ideas in this/ what I could do in the future..

I also had a mom her two girls I watch were sick all thus week, she asked to drop them off, but I asked her to play it safe and keep them home for the last two days just cause I don't want anyone getting sick.. She pays in advance, do I have to give her her money back since she didn't use me cause her kids were sick??

Very confused about all this??

SecondAve
05-04-2013, 08:41 AM
It really all depends on what your Contract or Agreement with them says. Some providers are paid for a certain number of sick days, usually the parents are aware of them when signing on. I do not charge when I am closed, but that was my choice.

I also often don't charge when I tell parents it might not be a good idea to bring a child on a certain day. Also, just my choice. But, I do know that some providers do charge.

You have to figure out what you are comfortable with and be upfront with the parents. If you didn't have anything agreed to with the parents, I might let them have these "free" days. Then send a letter advising of your new policy in the event this happens in the future. That way everyone is on the same page. Be prepared for some backlash, some parents might get upset and others might be fine with it all.

SecondAve
05-04-2013, 08:44 AM