PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on how to handle a mother of a child in my daycare please!

Daniellesipes
08-09-2011, 11:27 PM
Hi I have been providing childcare in my home for 1 year now. I have over 10 years experience with children including my own 2 children. I have this little girl that is suppose to come to me 5 days a week. She has very bad separation anxiety from her Mother. The Mother is suppose to drop her off at 7am every morning and comes in at 6:20am! and sits on my couch with the little girl on her until 7am. She then leaves and the little girl cries all day. I have had her for 8 weeks now and I am at the breaking point. I have asked the Mother to come in and drop her off quickly and it will be easier for the little girl. I have also suggested she bring her on the weekends and stay with her so she know she is safe with me. Anyone have any other suggestions?

waterloo day mom
08-10-2011, 08:25 AM
quick goodbye, kiss, and gone. Staying for any period of time suggests to the child that mommy staying while she is in daycare is an option. it's not. It also might make her feel that she is supposed to be uncomfortable. If mom leaves quickly then she will know that mom is comfortable with leaving here there and so the child will feel more at ease. It is not going to be an immediate fix and the first few days will be rough on both you and the child, but if mom keeps staying things will never change.

Katskids
08-10-2011, 09:09 AM