PDA

View Full Version : Only child EXTREMELY demanding of attention

GardenGal
08-18-2011, 01:30 PM
I have been caring for a 3 YO boy who is an only child for about 3 months now and he is driving me crazy with his attention-seeking. Less often, he does the negative attention stuff, but it's the constant pull for attention (asking almost ridiculous questions to keep my attention - What colour is the sky? Why are we eating?, etc.) and if he is not getting it that way, he is whining or tattling on every move of every other kid in care all day! His parents adore him and although they say that they will not acknowledge the demanding or annoying behaviour, I feel that he must be having it reinforced somewhere... I've tried to spend a little more one-on-one with him, but it just seems to make it worse. Also tried time-outs for the tattling.

Any advice as to how to resolve this is GREATLY APPRECIATED!!! Thank you!!!

Skysue
08-18-2011, 01:40 PM
Is he the oldest in your care? If so give him tasks to help out the smaller kids. i.e get him to play Simon says or tell them a story, even if he can't read he can still tell a story with pictures. Let him know he is your biggest helper. Let him help with diaper changes by getting you the supplies etc...Ignore the fibbing if it's harmelss.

I have 2 three year olds and the crazy questions about everything is normal, just answer with crazy silly answers. What colour is the sky, say rainbow, etc... they ususally laugh and tell you the correct answer. He sounds a bit board, does he like puzzles this can keep him busy when you need some down time. The leaf frog video's are amazing too for learning if you need to keep him busy while your making lunch etc... amazon.ca has some great deals. My 3 year olds love them we have like 6. They are only 1/2 hour videos but very eduactional.

sunnydays
08-18-2011, 01:45 PM