PDA

View Full Version : Follow-up after an interview

kh1214
08-25-2011, 02:39 PM
Hello Ladies,

I am new to running a daycare and have only just started looking for children. I have had quite a few interviews over the last two weeks and when the parents leave they say they will let me know asap. Some parents said they would let me know by the end of the week because they are meeting with other providers, yet a week and a half has passed and I have heard nothing! Some parents have been great and let me know one way or the other very soon afterwards.

Basically I am wondering how you guys handle a follow-up interview. Do you call them/e-mail them asking them or just let them respond in their own time? I am really unsure of how to handle this. I have met with parents who seem very interested and happy with my home and we make no agreement so I don't feel like I have to hold a spot for them yet on the other hand I don't want them to be upset if they do choose to go with me and I have filled all my spots! I just don't know what to do!

Any advice?

Play and Learn
08-25-2011, 03:07 PM
If I want a certain family, I will send them an email or call to let them know that I am interested in having their child in my care, and to let me know by "set" date as the spot might be taken. After getting this email, they tend to respond back.

But don't feel bad if they don't. I find that people in general this day and age don't have the common courtesy to call back just to say yay or nay.

Spixie33
08-25-2011, 04:46 PM
If I want a certain family, I will send them an email or call to let them know that I am interested in having their child in my care, and to let me know by "set" date as the spot might be taken. After getting this email, they tend to respond back.

But don't feel bad if they don't. find that people in general this day and age don't have the common courtesy to call back just to say yay or nay I.