PDA

View Full Version : Running a preschool in a dayhome setting

Jenny
01-05-2014, 12:19 PM
I am a Alberta certified teacher on a maternity leave. I am going to take an additional year off to explore my dream of opening a home daycare/preschool.

Has anyone ran a successful home preschool or a combined dayhome/preschool. If so was it successful, and what did it look like?

And, would it be unprofessional and unrealistic to run it while having my 1 year old in my direct care?

If yes,
I have the option of bringing in my fully qualified, experienced, criminal record checked, CPR/first aid certified sister-in-law to provide secondary care. By doing so I may be able to continue fourth with the preschool, even if just on a part time basis (i.e. T/Th AM or PM) while she watched my baby or if we shared the care and provided care to a non-preschool group in one part of the home while I ran a more structured group in another and we could do a switch of activities midway through the day or something to that effect.

The only set back is that until I know my business is lucrative I am nervous to do hire her. Unless...anyone of you has done this, know someone that has, or thinks it could work and I should just take the leap. In which case, any ideas to a logical plan and...how much I should be paying her, would you do per.hour?

I am grateful for any advice, suggestions, or opinions.

Mama of 1
01-05-2014, 01:04 PM
I'm not sure about laws in Alberta, as I'm in Ontario. But here you are only allowed 5 kids ( not including your own) regardless of how many teachers you have. So just make sure you look into laws in your area :) good luck this is a very helpful form.

Jenny
01-05-2014, 01:07 PM
Thanks Mama of 1!
Yes I am trying to find out about that, what the adult to kids ratio is.
Anyone know?

eoinsmom
01-05-2014, 07:40 PM