PDA

View Full Version : Finding your passion

torontokids
01-08-2014, 11:13 AM
So I am doing daycare until September. I have been enjoying it but I know I won't do this long term. The idea of going back to my old job is not all that appealing and nothing I can think of really excites me. I really like working for myself and I am really good at the business side of things. I guess I would need to figure out what to go into the business of...

My background is as a therapist (child and family). All my experience is working with children however I have a knack for getting things donated or for free (many of my agencies have discovered and used this), I am a good salesperson, I am super organized, energetic...just need some guidance. any thoughts?

bright sparks
01-08-2014, 11:41 AM
What about working as an events fundraiser?? That requires excellent communication and organization skills. You could work for a charity or your healthcare service. I'm sure there are many other companies who require this kind of thing. Team Leaders and coordinators run events such as Pride for example which to my understanding is a year round job so not just seasonal which wouldn't be ideal. How about OEYC/ROCK?? They too I imagine would require someone in a management position to organize many activities and events throughout the year and with your background in childcare I am sure they would see your experience and areas of strength as a great asset to their organization. Hope those ideas help :)

gravy_train
01-08-2014, 12:16 PM
Torontokids - I love this post! I am in the same situation as you in that daycare is short term for me and I will likely be closing in 2014. I love being my own boss but really miss the interaction with the outside world and intellectual stimulation that comes from doing something you are passionate about. Have you thought about starting a business as an independent therapist?

torontokids
01-08-2014, 12:23 PM