PDA

View Full Version : Rethinking opening a day home

Jenny
01-08-2014, 06:03 PM
I am a teacher and due to burn out thought providing a home daycare would be a great new fit. But after reading many of your posts I feel that there are just as many, if not more issues in this field.

So until I start hearing some positives I think I'll just move on.

superfun
01-08-2014, 06:45 PM
I don't think you should make your decision based on what you hear on this forum. This is a great website, and we feel comfortable talking and venting. But in my opinion, the reason it seems negative sometimes is because we don't have colleagues to vent to. I enjoy being self employed, and I really enjoy the kids when I have good kids. I'm lucky to be in an area that allows me to be picky about which children I accept. If I had to take kids who frustrated me all day just to pay the bills, I probably wouldn't do this.
I can't imagine going back to work at this point in my life. I really enjoy this.

5 Little Monkeys
01-08-2014, 07:04 PM
Financially, there are more issues in this field!! lol. We don't get paid as well and we have to buy everything we need out of pocket (unless your licensed and receive grants). Many of us don't get paid sick days, paid holidays and some don't get paid STAT days. There is always the risk of a parent trying to scam you out of money or a parent leaving and leaving you down a child/payment until that spot is filled.