PDA

View Full Version : So, are you still babysitting?

mimi
04-28-2014, 09:24 AM
Good morning ladies! I will be going to a bridal shower soon which involves lots of in-law relatives who I haven't seen or spoken to in a long while.
I always get asked when I do see them the question in the title. I can't seem to come up with an answer that does not convey my annoyance at being called a babysitter when I have described in the past my program and activities we do.

So, I was wondering if you ladies have any suggestions on how you might answer this question with out seeming perturbed or defensive.

Thanks, the babysitter;):rolleye s::no:

Daisy123
04-28-2014, 09:38 AM
"Nope. I've been promoted. I'm now a small business owner providing quality child care services to my community." (Ok, that might come off a bit saucy but it's what I'd be thinking. :rolleyes: )

mickyc
04-28-2014, 09:44 AM
just reply "yes I am still running my own home daycare". if they want to call that babysitting then so be it.

Crayola kiddies
04-28-2014, 09:46 AM
You could say "I haven't babysat since I was a teenager but yes I am still running my home daycare"

Wonderwiper
04-28-2014, 09:52 AM
I agree with Mickyc. Unless they say it purposely trying to offend you don't let it bother you! You know what you do.

mimi
04-28-2014, 10:04 AM
Thank you ladies, the SIL's are a judgmental group so when I hear the question from them it makes me feel defensive which makes me mad at myself as I am very proud of my daycare and don't like my industry and colleagues called babysitters.
Daisy, I especially like "I've been promoted" and I think I will use that with a big smile.:D

CrazyEight
04-28-2014, 10:14 AM
I have the same problem, a baby shower in 2 weeks, and I'm already dreading it...keep the suggestions coming!

DCMG
04-28-2014, 10:36 AM