PDA

View Full Version : Doing everything wrong?!?

Poppy
05-01-2014, 07:36 PM
Hello. I am officially supposed to be starting my daycare next week. My mat leave is officially over and I have set up my entire basement into the daycare. Our house is clean and safe and I have spent a lot of time and money setting it up to model a centre type setting.

I am a teacher an an ECE and so I made my rates just slightly higher than the average in my area.

I have done a bunch of interviews and everybody says how much they like my set up and how they are impressed with my qualifications.

Not a single person has come back to actually register. I am entering panic mode as the mat leave pay is now finished and I assumed I would be up and running by now.

I lowered my rates to the average in my area, even though I feel that I am worth more. I even have offered different "incentives", such as "date night". I just can't secure any families.

I have a very detailed parent handbook which I was handing out at every interview. I wonder if that could be intimidating?

Do you think parents are turned off by being the first families to register? I wonder if it could be because I have no other kids signed up so they are hesitant.

Do you hand out your policies and procedures during interviews?

Has anyone tried any "promotions" to secure families? Like, "first week free if you sign up now". Should I lower my ares even more??

Any thoughts or input would be appreciated. I am close to having to pack it up and go back to work before even starting! :) Thanks!

Teagansmom
05-01-2014, 07:44 PM
Hi, I'm sorry it's been hard for you. I'm not sure where you are from but I myself have recently been through this after relocating to a new city. I do hand out my policy and handbook, I know it could be a pain but in the end I think it's worth it to get the right families in.