PDA

View Full Version : Drop-in fees...am I charging too much??

MunchkinMinder
10-08-2011, 11:57 AM
I just had a parent call me inquiring about drop-in care. I told her that I charge $25 for up to 5 hours and $40 for 5-10 hours. She said that it was a bit high as there was a day home in her area that only charges $20 for a full day's care. I personally thought that the day home provider closer to her is undercharging and selling herself short.

I mentioned that I have 15+ years experience and provide all their meals and snacks through out the day. And really for on a Sunday, which would be the day in the week that she needs care for, I thought I was being generous not raising my weekday rate. What do you guys think?? Am I charging too much?? Or is this parent being unreasonable to think that I should charge in my opinion basically$2/hour or less for a full day??

Play and Learn
10-08-2011, 12:35 PM
Parent is being unreasonable. Drop-in fees should be higher in my opinion. She doesn't like it, the door is there!

playfelt
10-08-2011, 01:57 PM
If she was just coming on a day that I had open anyways ie filling in with other part timers then I would likely just charge my daily rate for the date. The fact it is a Sunday warrants a premium rate anyways. My weekend rate is $50. When I don't have other kids in care then I am the one entertaining the child all day and not getting my own things done so it needs to compensated. How regularly is she planning to drop in.

MunchkinMinder
10-08-2011, 02:41 PM
From the sound of it she was wanting to come every Sunday. That's why I was a bit stumped at why she was saying I was charging a bit high of a fee.

Play and Learn
10-08-2011, 03:34 PM
As playfelt said, you charge them a premium as they're taking your Sunday from them (for me, Sundays are a day of rest and cleaning up the house!). It's not high at all.

MunchkinMinder
10-08-2011, 04:17 PM