PDA

View Full Version : Pay Rate/Salaries

torontomama
01-19-2015, 01:44 PM
Hi there - I am new to this and would love any isight you can provide. I am considering opening a licensed daycare in Toronto. Can anyone provide some information on salaries? 1) What is the average salary for an ECE and ECA? 2) Do ECE or ECA salaries change depending on the group they oversee (infant, toddler, preschool) 3) Are all ECE and ECAs paid an hourly or annual salary 4) What is the going salary for a experienced supervisor at a daycare who takes care of all the day-to-day operations, curriculum, registration, etc.? 5) Do all full time ECE, ECAs receive dental and medical benefits?
Also, what do substitute ECEs or ECAs get paid? Thank you so much in advance. I'm doing research on this but see a huge variation and it would be great to get some feedback from this group. Thank you so much in advance!

Fearlessbaby
01-19-2015, 03:52 PM
I used to work at a daycare. I made $15/hour. Some pay less- $13/hour to start. I haven't been a daycare worker for a while- so I would inquire by responding to ads in papers. I didn't receive benefits, but if you could provide workers with those after some experience, it would be great. Good luck!

Discoveries
01-19-2015, 04:29 PM
It can vary greatly. In the Toronto area I suspect pay may be higher, but for my area hourly rate range is:

Executive Director $18-$47
Supervisors $14-$38
Assistant supervisors $12-$25
ECE in program $11-$27
ECE as program support $11-$21
Non ECE program staff minimum wage - $21
Supply staff minimum wage - $22
Office admin. $13-$22

Lee-Bee
01-19-2015, 05:34 PM
The higher you pay the better qualified staff you have and the less staff turn over you have. In my experience daycare workers are greatly underpaid for what they do. The high quality, passionate, loyal and dedicated workers tend to leave the field to secure work that pays more and has benefits and retirement plans etc.