PDA

View Full Version : At my wit's end!!!

mattsmom
09-16-2015, 09:30 AM
So, I have this one year old boy that's in his second week in my care and I don't know what to do with him!

He has cried from the time he started coming here. And I don't mean crying some of the day and stops for the other times....he cries literally the entire day!

I have tried everything with him...playing with him, holding and bouncing him on my knee, showing him the toys, distracting him, taking him for walks, playing music. The other children try to play with him but nothing will make him stop!

He won't even sleep while he's here. I give him lunch and a bottle and he will just cry the entire time in the playpen. I eventually have to get him up because he is waking the other little one up.

I've been doing this job for more than 8 years and have had many babies here and I have to say that I'm am at a loss at what to do with him.

Any advice would be truly appreciated!

fivelittleones
09-16-2015, 10:35 AM
Is he teething? Has he had bowel movements? If everything else looks okay and you are sure it's just separation anxiety...I would put him on another level of your house if you are able to and let him cry it out. It might take a while but just have the monitor on and don't go in. He needs to self sooth. If you keep trying to please him and make him stop crying he'll keep crying to get anything he wants. That's my advice...hope it helps! :unsure:

Suzie_Homemaker
09-16-2015, 12:10 PM
Ask Mom to provide a comfort item with her scent. Not big blanket because it get in way but something smell like Mommy.

Dreamalittledream
09-17-2015, 08:31 AM