PDA

View Full Version : How to give references when you're a new provider?

2angels
11-19-2011, 11:22 PM
I'll be opening a daycare soon and am doing all my preparations now. I just discovered this forum - what a wealth of information! Definitely has got me thinking how I will run my daycare!

Since I'm new, how do I give potential families references and/or market my background/qualifications? I have 2 children of my own (3 & 5). My background is a corporate position with a financial company. Any tips/suggestions?

Skysue
11-20-2011, 10:24 AM
I'll be opening a daycare soon and am doing all my preparations now. I just discovered this forum - what a wealth of information! Definitely has got me thinking how I will run my daycare!

Since I'm new, how do I give potential families references and/or market my background/qualifications? I have 2 children of my own (3 & 5). My background is a corporate position with a financial company. Any tips/suggestions?

Hi,

In your case you give character references, people that can say how well you are with kids and how well you are at multi tasking etc.

When I started out I used friends and my sister as I helped her a lot with her 4 kids.

I also used my daughter’s former daycare provider as she could vouch for my parenting style, as you will want parents with your same vales and style of discipline.

2angels
11-21-2011, 10:13 AM
Thank you Skysue. I have not watched other kids before, but can definitely use friends and former caregivers.

Spixie33
11-21-2011, 11:45 AM
I did the same thing as you...
I mean...I babysat when I was young and I had my own to kids that are well taken care of but I didn't take ECE in school and I was working in the corporate/sales world before I decided to become a provider.
I was so worried that people would ask for references
I was honest and answered parent questions honestly and told them I don't have any references if they asked me.