PDA

View Full Version : New here & a question

2angels
11-21-2011, 11:17 AM
Hi everyone,

I have been reading the forum and I'm so glad I found it! I will be starting my daycare early next year, currently working full time. It's going to be a big change for me as I've been working for a corporation for the past 10 years! I decided I want to be home for my kids and operating a daycare is my next best source of income.

Quick question - although my daycare is starting next year, I'm already purchasing things this year (large items like storage, small items like books, toys, etc). If I understand correctly, I should be able to expense these items against my income this year right? I would just claim 0 for self employment income? Also, with regards to equipment and capital cost allowance, I understand furniture is in this category. What about things like high chairs, play pens, strollers? Do we treat these as equipment where we write off 20% every year, or are these expenses? Does it matter if they are bought new or used? Sorry, I guess it wasn't a quick question after all!

playfelt
11-21-2011, 01:08 PM