PDA

View Full Version : Providing homecare for 1 child (plus my own 2 kiddies - ages 1 and 3)

Colleen
01-07-2016, 03:05 PM
Hi,
I live in the Lorne Park area and am currently on maternity leave but have decided to stay home longer with my two kids ages 1 and 3. I want to provide care for one additional child in my home for 2-3 days a week. I think it will be nice for my 3 year-old to have a playmate until he begins school in September of 2017 and I enjoy children.

Is there any laws that would apply to my situation? I know I would have to provide a receipt to the parents (what does this look like?) and formally claim my income. I will remain unlicensed but will look up the rules for child care. I don't want to make any mistakes in terms of the regulations that I should follow.

Also, does anyone know how much I should charge in this situation? I do not specialize in childcare; however, I am a licensed professional with the Ontario College of Teachers OCT (experienced high school teacher).

I have just begun to research this possibility but any help, advice, or important links you could provide me with would be fantastic.

Thank you in advance! Colleen

Suzie_Homemaker
01-07-2016, 04:19 PM
Which province is Lorne Park? This national forum and every province have rules/laws/regs but what they are change from one province to next.

The receipt information is same across board. Their name and address, how much they paid, dates they for for, your name, address and your SIN number. If not have to register your business with the province you in, but if you do, you will get a Business number (BIN) and then you use that on receipt instead of SIN.