PDA

View Full Version : Creative solutions?

amber
11-24-2011, 12:05 PM
Hi Ladies,

I'm a newbie to this profession- I've been a nanny and an intervenor, so I'm still finding my sea legs as a home daycare provider. I'm suprised how much parents take advantage; I never had my boundaries questioned as a nanny but now I'm getting walked all over.
How do you handle the typical problems (REALLY late pick ups, kids dropped off in poopy wet pj's :blink:, payments not made in a timely fashion) without offending and losing your clients?
I almost feel like I need to start with new families and handle the terms and conditions another way.
Anyone have any ideas?:

Sandbox Sally
11-24-2011, 12:09 PM
Hi Amber and welcome!

Group emails. This way, nobody is being singled out. Send an email to everyone, stating that from now on, children must be dressed, clean and ready for the day upon arrival at daycare, and that no child will be accepted outside your operating hours. Then politely go on to tell them that failure to observe these rules will be grounds for dismissal from your day home effective immediately. If you want, you could also tell them that there will be a contract addendum waiting for everyone to sign upon pickup the next day.

Good luck. Don't let anyone push you around. Chances are, everyone you want to stay will stay, and as for the rest - bye! :) You live in a well populated area, and likely won't have a hard time finding a replacement family.

sunnydays
11-24-2011, 12:39 PM