PDA

View Full Version : Run by parents

pookie
12-09-2011, 09:11 AM
Hi everyone!

I have a problem, I'm fairly new to having my own day home. Everything was going great at the beginning with the parents that I have. And now for the past couple of months both sets of parents have been showing up late regularly and with just an (Uh ya sorry, shrug of the shoulders) I thought that I was clear with my contract and established a good home daycare. I KNOW most of you are probably thinking that it's my fault, which I totally aggree with :yes:

I have one mother that talks down to me and has accused me of not changing her childs bumb, because the child kept getting rashes, I assured her that I change each child at the same time. It turns out that she was allergic to the wipes, she didn't even appaligize for that.

How do you get the parents to respect you after giving them too many "It's okay" I'm tired of it and I need to demand a change, but I'm worried that they will say something "Like why are you changing now" or backfire on me and have them tell me that I'm being a you know what! I need to find my backbone, which I think I have found it i'm just not sure on how to pick my battles.

Thanks for any advice!:o

Julie
12-09-2011, 10:54 AM
Hi Pookie !
I think you should just say that things are changing i have been to lenient with certain thing in my contract and you are going to be referring to the contract much more from hear on in. Even be honest with them and say i can't have the lateness anymore i have a family to feed and a house to clean and when im closed im closed. You just have to do the change and show them you mean business and say enough is enough you can not be late any more. Hope it helps a bit

playfelt
12-09-2011, 11:00 AM