PDA

View Full Version : How does being a daycare provider effect your own kids?

lotssoflove
12-09-2011, 01:25 PM
Hello!
Ive been running an ahdc since my son was 6 months old. I have two kids 6 and 8 and I feel me running this business has been a double edged sword a bit.

On one hand they both have learned how to share very quickly and they both love babies and the new ones that come in. They make friends easily and can have a play date anytime they want because I am home for them. Sick days are not a problem here. Your sick and dont want to go to school fine not an issue. :yes:

On the other hand they have had to sacrifice so much. Their toys are played with, their rooms are used for naps and their clothes are often borrowed. They get attached to the dc kids so when they leave, they feel like they've lost a sibling and often are upset. At times of a hard day they come home to a stressed out mom and feel the responsibility to "help out". :blink:

I guess I was wondering if others have the same feeling as well?

Skysue
12-09-2011, 05:27 PM
Hello!
Ive been running an ahdc since my son was 6 months old. I have two kids 6 and 8 and I feel me running this business has been a double edged sword a bit.

On one hand they both have learned how to share very quickly and they both love babies and the new ones that come in. They make friends easily and can have a play date anytime they want because I am home for them. Sick days are not a problem here. Your sick and dont want to go to school fine not an issue. :yes:

On the other hand they have had to sacrifice so much. Their toys are played with, their rooms are used for naps and their clothes are often borrowed. They get attached to the dc kids so when they leave, they feel like they've lost a sibling and often are upset. At times of a hard day they come home to a stressed out mom and feel the responsibility to "help out". :blink:

I guess I was wondering if others have the same feeling as well?