PDA

View Full Version : What is your real profession...

Cocoon
12-10-2011, 10:58 AM
...and do you miss going to work and have an adult conversation?

Cocoon

lori123
12-10-2011, 06:02 PM
I have a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry and worked many years in both food and pharmaceutical industries. After having my second child, I did not want to return to my job because it was a childish and toxic environment....it made me feel physically ill when I would think about returning after mat leave. After a second child, my priorities seemed to shift from career to "being there for my kids" and I realized I did not want to work many hours only to see my own kids at nighttime and weekends.

I started out with an agency watching their children and then realized that I could make more money in my pocket, set my hours better, and choose which child and set of parents that I wanted to work with by going privately. I enjoy it much more this way but eventually think that once my own children grow up more and won't need their own daycare then I may try to go back to the "rat race" instead of commuting to my living room! :) Time will tell.

As far as adult conversation - I don't miss the backstabbing politics of an office setting and I have found a group of care givers that we often get together and see each other at various centres and parks.

It will be interesting to read what other people post .... thanks for starting an interesting topic!

Play and Learn
12-10-2011, 07:08 PM
I am an ECE by trade (currently an RECE), have my BA in Religious Studies and Music, and took Office Administration 2 years ago (for business side of things). I also have qualifications to teach Highland Dancing (in which I own my own dance school).

I do miss adult conversation, but don't miss the politics of working in a center! I enjoy being my own boss, choosing MY hours, and MY rules! :)

Bugaboo
12-10-2011, 10:35 PM