PDA

View Full Version : Do you buy your groceries separate?

LittleMunchkins
12-13-2011, 10:30 PM
Just curious, when claiming for food expenses, how do you keep it separate? Do you buy stuff for your family and then the daycare on a different bill? I forgot to save all of my receipts this year, so I guess I am SOL to claim it.

little rascals
12-13-2011, 11:05 PM
I buy everything at the a same time and then just highlight what was for the dayhome. I not sure if thats the way to go because this is my first year doing taxes for a dayhome so I hope that is fine.

Bugaboo
12-13-2011, 11:11 PM
I pay for everything separate which usually means I have two orders at the store.

Spixie33
12-14-2011, 06:32 AM
I am not sure how you could put it on a separate bill because the daycare food and family food intertwines.
I cook a large batch of food that lasts for my family's dinner as well as the daycare's lunch the next day. Also snacks I might buy go to my own children as well as the daycare children so not sure how that would be possible to keep separate or on different receipts.
My accountant said that some portion of my groceries is covered. I forget what percentage.
basically I save all my grocery receipts and enter them into my spreadsheet and then I give my accountant the spreadsheet every year and he does some sort of formula for whatever portion I am allowed to claim.

Play and Learn
12-14-2011, 06:54 AM
I am not sure how you could put it on a separate bill because the daycare food and family food intertwines.
I cook a large batch of food that lasts for my family's dinner as well as the daycare's lunch the next day. Also snacks I might buy go to my own children as well as the daycare children so not sure how that would be possible to keep separate or on different receipts.
My accountant said that some portion of my groceries is covered. I forget what percentage.